Author Interview: Dr. Don C. Kean

Hello, everyone! It is my pleasure to introduce you to Dr. Don C. Kean–author of I Didn’t Sign Up For This.

IMG_20140119_081738 My Picture

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I live just outside of Louisville Kentucky. I practiced General Dentistry in Louisville for 25 years. I am currently working in retail management. I went to college at The University of Kentucky where I received a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. I went on to attend the University School of Dentistry for four more years. I do enjoy writing very much, but my very favorite thing to do is go fishing. I also enjoy automobile racing. Despite all of the schooling I would still rather dress casual and get dirty than to dare dress up.

2. When and why did you start writing?
I started writing as a hobby about fifteen years ago. I found it to be quite cathartic. I decided to take it a bit more seriously in 2008 when I rediscovered and fell in love with the study of the American Civil War.

4. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
My book’s title is “I Didn’t Sign Up For This”. The title relates to naive decisions made in youth that sometimes bear some very bitter fruits later in life. Young Joshua,(J.D. for short), the story’s protagonist signs up for army service at the wars outbreak, but gets a whole lot more than he ever bargained for. I arrived at that title in the very beginning of the work and I stuck to it.

6. Does your story have a moral?
The story has several themes and sub themes. The central theme is what that horrible bloody war did to men’s minds. It begs the question, how could a relatively well adjusted human being ever experience and see such death, destruction, and suffering and not be deeply wounded mentally and emotionally by it all. Some of the sub themes in the narrative are; J.D and Susan’s romance, and the role of angelic beings in ones life. There is one very strong moral that J.D. learns in his sufferings and experiences. Duty and love are very much the same thing.

7. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
This story is very much Joshua’s thus he is the true central character of the story. He is a very kind and bright individual. He has a solid moral compass. He would be a very likable young man, the kind most of us would like to meet. He rationally and logically mulls over his decision to either enlist for war versus staying at home on the farm at the book’s beginning using what limited knowledge he has (and one can only imagine how limited it was In 1860,s Western Kentucky), about the war and its causes. He also has a great family and he adores them. The number one supporting character to Joshua is Susan. Susan had always been a childhood playmate of Joshua’s. He likes her but never really considered her romantically. But Susan chose him. She is mentioned sporadically in the book’s middle parts but does not become a more central figure until later in the narrative. But when she does appear she makes her presence quite known. Susan is a true southern lady in every regard. But she is stubborn and persistent about her faith and about her place in Joshua’s life. She nurtures and befriends Joshua after he returns home from war a very scarred and disturbed man who cannot forget his past, nor forgive himself. Susan with the help of spiritual guidance and intervention from angelic beings gradually reaches the old Joshua leading to his deliverance and redemption.

8. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
I really do not have set writing times. I write when I can. I generally do not have any limitations on time or quantity once I start.

9. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
I do use a very very basic outline but many things just came to me as I wrote.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books

2. Dogs or cats?
Dogs

3. Summer or winter?
Summer

4. Cake or ice-cream?
Ice-cream

5. Car or motorcycle?
Car

6. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book

7. Nights out or nights in?
Nights in

8. Living in the city or living in the country?
Living in the country

9. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telepathy

10. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Past

11. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Call

12. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Car

13. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Camping

14. Working in a group or working alone?
Alone

15. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
The pictures

Thank you, Don, for joining us!
Readers: want to connect with Don? You can find him on his website, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

One thought on “Author Interview: Dr. Don C. Kean

Leave a Reply

