Author Interview: Vincent Morrone

Ladies and gentlemen, please join me in welcoming Vincent Morrone–author of Just Breathe, the Vision series, and Torn Away. (Here’s an interesting tidbit: Torn Away–a suspense/romance novel–was recently named the winner of the Saratoga RWA Great Beginnings Contest.)

Author Pic

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I’m a father of twin girls who are in their senior year of high school and will be off to college next year. My home is operated for the comfort of our three dogs, a 7 year old black lab named Toby who belongs to one daughter, a 5 year old boxer named Molly who belongs to the other, and a 2 year old Old Engle Bulldog named Lilly who was supposed to be mine, but follows my wife around like her shadow.

2. When did you start writing?
Back in high school, I used to constantly write short stories, song lyrics, a few scripts, and even tried my hand at novels, but I had no real idea of how to plot a book out. Even though everything I wrote was well received by teachers and friends, my parents didn’t really encourage this for me, so I sort of put it down in favor of ‘growing up.’ When I got married and talked to my wife about all the things I wanted to write, she told me if I wanted to be a writer, learn how to do it and do it. I had a few false starts, finished a full book that was way too long, then hit it with Vision of Shadows. Since then, there’s been no stopping me.

The Vision series currently has 3 books out. (Plus a short story) It’s planned as a 5 book arc. I also had a minor hit with a book called Just Breathe, a New Adult Romance.

3. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
This is a very hard question, because it’s like asking me to choose between my children. I love them all so much.

I do have some characters that stand out though, because they’re fun. Often times, they’re secondary characters. In the Vision series, there’s Maggie, the main character’s BFF. She’s a zany girl who dresses in colorful outfits and drives everyone nuts, but is so loveable. And her grandpa, who’s an old curmudgeon. And then there’s Zack, a little boy who is just a hoot.

In Just Breathe, I really enjoyed writing Noah’s grandfather, who was both sweet and sarcastic. And Brady, who started out as just a character to distract another, and grew to someone who got his own B plot.

In the Torn books, Nana Rose is really a hoot. There’s a few scenes where everyone who’s read it told me they were hysterical!

Of course, the MC’s are all special.

From the Vision series, I love Bristol Blackburn. A teenage psychic who is about to meet the boy of her dreams. Literally. She knows he’ll either be the love of her life, or he’ll kill her. Her sweet, yet snarky voice really comes to life in those books.

And I really loved how Drew connected with Cole in Torn Away.

4. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
I write whenever I can. If I have a day off where I’m not doing anything, I’ll sit in my recliner with my laptop and keep going. Sometimes, I get a chance to put words down at night. I work full time, have a wife and kids, so I can’t be picky.

When I write, sometimes I’ll put on music, with headphones, to drown out the rest of the world. I’ll go for something familiar when I write. I grew up a big KISS fan, so they’re always good, but I’ll also put on everything from Bryan Adams, Chris Stapleton, Brad Paisley, Barry Manilow, Carrie Underwood, and even classical like Mozart or Bach.

5. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
I usually do a bullet point outline. It helps when I know what I’m doing and where I’m going, but each book is different and each author has to do what is best for them. Try one, and if that doesn’t work, try the other. And it’s really like a bell curve. Some authors outline a book so intricately, that they can and do write the book out of order. Others have no idea what they’re gonna write till they begin. But there are all ways in-between. There’s no right or wrong way, so find what works for you.

6. Any project in the works?
Yes, I’ve got the sequel to Torn Away, called Torn Apart. I have 2 more books in the Vision series I’m working on. I’ve released Vision of Shadows, Vision of Serpents and Vision of Sacrifices. Vision of Shadows actually just came out as an audio book, and Just Breathe and the 2nd Vision book are next.

I’ve also got a novella called The Red Strokes that’s part of an anthology series. Each author had to do a book with paranormal creatures and at some point, they find themselves at a place called The Hotel paranormal. Mine has to do with a psychic who hates it when she gets her abilities and a demon hunter who has no idea who or what he is.

And then I’ve literally got about ½ a dozen other things I want to work on. It’s just a matter of which one.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Love them both, but books are better.

2. Dogs or cats?
Dogs. Cats are nice, and I love both Peter Criss and Eric Singer from KISS, but my wife is allergic.

3. Living in the city or living in the country?
I lived in Brooklyn for most of my life, then moved up to Saratoga Springs about 16 years ago. I miss the pizza, but would never go back.

4. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telekinesis. I prefer to be ignorant about what my daughters are thinking, and I’m lazy.

5. Being Spiderman for a day or being Batman for a day?
Spiderman!! I love them both, but I want to spin webs and piss off J. Jonah Jamison!

6. Reading or writing?
Hard to choose as you’ve got to love both, but writing.

7. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
No TV. I love TV, but I can entertain myself with Netflix and besides, leave me alone, I’m more likely to write anyway.

8. To never speak again or to never eat solid food again?
I love food way too much for that to even be a question.

9. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
I can survive without chocolate.

10. Finding yourself trapped in the universe of The Walking Dead or finding yourself trapped in a slasher film?
The Walking Dead. I would want to test a theory. Play Michael Jackson’s Thriller and see if the walkers do the electric slide.

Thank you for joining us, Vincent!
Readers: want to connect with Vincent? You can find him on Twitter, Goodreads, Facebook, Instagram, and Amazon. Also, be sure to visit his website.

Leave a Reply

