Author Interview: Marie Silk

I am delighted to present to you all Marie Silk; she’s the author of the Davenport House book series.

mewales1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
If you meet me in person, I will likely seem either shy or confident, but rarely in between. I enjoy traveling the world and have so far visited 24 countries. My goal is to visit 20 more within the next 6 years.

I wrote my first complete play at the age of 10 and later went on to write short stories and plays throughout high school. Some of my hobbies include cooking, Farmer’s Markets, scrapbooking, and Legos. I still have the Legos that I played with as a child and have never stopped collecting. There are more Legos in my home than anything else. I also collect maps and globes.

2. Why did you start writing?
Friends and family have always encouraged me to write a book. After years of writing short stories and screenplays, I finally decided to write a novel. The result was an emotional family saga titled Davenport House. It is unlike anything else I have written because it is serious. Most of my writing up to this time has been comedy and satire. I have enjoyed exploring the human condition in a historical setting with this new series.

3. What are you currently reading?
I am currently re-reading the classics: H.G. Wells and Verne. I love the adventure and classical setting of the stories. My current writing projects are books 4 and 5 to the Davenport House series, as well as preparing an outline for a stand-alone contemporary fiction.

4. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
My advice to aspiring writers: if you can write, please do! Get feedback from strangers rather than friends and family. Fine tune your work, correct any typos, and publish!

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books

2. Dogs or cats?
Dogs

3. Summer or winter?
Winter

4. Cake or ice-cream?
Ice Cream

5. Car or motorcycle?
Car

6. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book

7. Nights out or nights in?
Nights in

8. Living in the city or living in the country?
Country

9. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telekinesis

10. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Past

11. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Text

12. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Airplane

Thank you for joining us, Marie!
Readers: want to connect with Marie? You can find her on Facebook and Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Marie Silk

Leave a Reply

