Author Interview: L.C. Perry

Ladies and gentlemen, please put your hands together for L.C. Perry–author of Floresha, book one in the Metamorphosis trilogy.

l.c.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born in Florence, South Carolina but I grew up in Michigan; I live in Michigan but I go to school in Atlanta, Georgia. Besides reading and writing, I also do a lot of daydreaming, listening to music, watching anime/reading manga, and sometimes taking photos. I am currently a college student but recently an author as well 🙂 I’m studying Biology and Creative Writing!

2. Care to share a few fun facts with us?

  • I’m from a family of seven.
  • My height is 6 feet and 2 inches
  • I have a huge sweet tooth
  • I used to play basketball and volleyball
  • I’m a tree hugger and a dog lover
  • I’m a quiet person at school but a very loud person at home 🙂

3. When did you start writing?
I noticed that I liked writing when I was in sixth grade. I started writing my first book when I was thirteen and then I wrote the sequel to it when I was fifteen. I have also written several poems. The book I have published now is the third book I have written, but it’s the start of my first trilogy.

4. Why did you start writing?
I loved creating my own world and characters. My imagination would sometimes run rampant and it was always fun for me to decide the outcome.

5. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
As soon as I had the ideas ready, I started writing the novel and I was about sixteen when I started working on it.

6. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
For a while, I was going to name the book after the main character, but then I decided to name the book after the world instead. I figured it made more sense to do that since it isn’t just an introduction of the characters, but of the whole environment.

7. Does your story have a moral?
There are quite a few morals and themes embedded into this trilogy – some of them don’t show until later on in the series. To name a few, there’s the idea of not judging a book by its cover, fight for what you think is right, the importance of teamwork, accepting other people’s differences, etc.

8. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
One of my favorites is introduced in the second book, but focusing on this one in particular, I would have to say Riis Jiropi is my favorite. He’s optimistic, funny, laid back, charismatic, and very chill even in dangerous situations. He’s very fun to write because of that and his behavior comes naturally to me. I love how the others look to him to lighten the mood.

9. Using five words or less, describe the protagonist in Floresha.
Clumsy, supportive, stubborn, kindhearted, determined

10. Let’s talk about what a typical writing session looks like for you.

  • Do you listen to music as you write?

I usually have TV on in the background

  • What is your preferred writing time? 

I do not have one. I write whenever I’m feeling it 🙂

  • Do you prefer writing outside or indoors?

Indoors

  • Do you like to write in public places, or do you seek out isolation?

Isolation. I’m less likely to get distracted.

10. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
Definitely for them, but how I do them is different. Sometimes I give summaries of what I want in the next few chapters and sometimes I just do quickwriting. I usually do one to organize my thoughts or when I’ve had a long writer’s block.

11. What is your favorite book genre?
Young Adult (varies on the genre but usually paranormal, dystopian, romance)

12. What are you currently reading?
I’m currently reading Unwholly, Delirium, City of Glass and The Maze Runner

13. Any project in the works?
I’m close to being done with the last book of the trilogy and I have another book in the works.

14. How long does it usually take you to write a book?
Since I’m in school, it varies. My first two books took me two years each, but this one only took me one year. The second book in the Metamorphosis trilogy took about eight or less months.

15. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Keep writing! Even when you’re stuck, write every idea that comes to mind and read a lot as well. Many ideas surface just by reading other people’s work.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Dogs or cats?
DOGS

2. Cake or ice-cream?
Cake! I’m addicted to frosting 🙂

3. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book

4. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telekinesis! Although having that power will make me very lazy~

5. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
The past. The future is always changing, but the past will always be the same. I’d rather peek into something that I know is set in stone.

6. Being Spiderman for a day or being Batman for a day?
Spiderman for a day! I would be climbing walls and swinging all over the place!

7. Reading or writing?
TIE!!!

8. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
Every language known to humankind

9. Being drawn into a tornado or being drawn into a whirlpool?
Tornado! I won’t be able to swim!

10. Misunderstanding everything that is told to you or being misunderstood every time that you speak?
Being misunderstood every time. It’d be pretty bad if I misunderstood everything my boss said…

11. To never read another book or to never watch another film?
To never watch another film. I have to have my books!

12. Spending half a day locked in a coffin (there would be a hole for air, of course) or spending two days trapped at the bottom of a well?
Half a day in a coffin. At least I’ll be able to sleep…

13. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
Never drink a cup of coffee. I don’t drink coffee anyway 🙂

14. Being two inches tall or being two stories tall?
Two stories tall! At least I won’t have to worry about being crushed and I’m used to being tall!

15. Finding yourself trapped in the universe of The Walking Dead or finding yourself trapped in a slasher film?
Slasher film. I think I’ll have a better chance of surviving since I won’t have to worry about the dead suddenly becoming undead.

16. Have every day be Saturday or have every day be Christmas?
Have every day be Saturday. Christmas is less special if it’s every day 🙂

Thank you for joining us, L.C.!
Readers: want to connect wit L.C.? You can find her on Twitter and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

