Author Interview: Burbuqe Raufi

It is my pleasure to introduce Burbuqe Raufi–author of Dr. Mind.

Burbuqe[1]

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born and live in Tetovë, Macedonia, a small country beneath the Balkans, Europe. I live with my two beautiful sons Kron and Peon, my husband and our nameless cat which is now a mother of four cute little kittens. .

I have graduated English language and literature and ELT master. I used to work as an English teacher for 12 years and currently working as an educational inspector.

I love spending quality time with my family, enjoy reading and exploring new ways to enlightenment and I am open to all the good that life offers.

2. When did you start writing?
I started to write when I was in primary school, I even got awarded for my poetry at children’s magazine, and then I continued to write a journal and transformed it into short stories. Now I am a published author of a self help book Dr. Mind, and two unpublished novels in the process of publishing.

3. Why did you start writing?
I always believed that whatever you write it will become eternal, your story will live even when you won’t be.

4. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
My book is about my own story of changing. It is about fighting with an incurable disease, so during this journey I had to visit a lot of doctors, but at the end I realized that I was in charge of my own life with my own thoughts, that you create what you think. So I couldn’t find a better title unless Dr. Mind.

5. Is there a moral contained within Dr. Mind?
I wouldn’t say moral rather than a message. Publishing my book was my life goal to spread my message with the world, especially with those who are in the same situation as I used to be, a hopeless and terrifying experience. I want to give hope to all those who have lost it. We all can change the course of our life with the power of our own mind.

6. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
I can’t write with people and sounds around me. I write when I am totally alone and when I don’t have distractions from outside, if I do I put my headphones and listen to classical music. I got all the ideas in my head that is why I need time alone to type them on my computer. I am always inspired to write, my thoughts always talk to me, all I have to do is to write them down, but I am finding difficulties to find that lone time because I have a lot of other responsibilities in my life.

7. What is your favorite book?
My favorite book of all the time is “You can heal your life” by Louise Hay. This book saved my life, this book brought me endless miracles into my life. Louise teachings and techniques are amazing.

8. Any project in the works?
I have two novels in progress and I am experimenting fiction now, but of course based on true events that are inspiring stories as well.

9. In your opinion, what makes a story ‘good’?
I believe that true stories are the best stories.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books of course.

2. Dogs or cats?
I prefer cats, although I love dogs too.

3. Summer or winter?
Oh, summer, my favorite season of all four favorite seasons.

4. Cake or ice-cream?
I would choose cake, especially chocolate cake.

5. Car or motorcycle?
Car definitely, I can’t even ride a bicycle.

6. Living in the city or living in the country?
I love living in the country, no doubts.

7. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
I would choose telepathy, I can see more useful outcomes than telekinesis. Communicating with someone out of reach is much more exciting than moving a glass of water on the table.

8. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
I prefer traveling to the past, so I can experience some wonderful moments once again.

9. Working in a group or working alone?
I prefer working alone.

10. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
I can’t imagine losing my pictures of my memories. You can always earn money but you can never get back in time and redo the memories, unless question number 8 can become true.

11. Being Spiderman for a day or being Batman for a day?
Can I be Superman instead?

12. Bungee jumping or going on the slingshot ride?
Bungee jumping definitely, it is so much fun.

13. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
I would love to understand the language of animals; it would have been so easy to understand my cat, which is impossible despite the fact that I can use Google translate for the first option of your question.

14. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
It’s been few years that I don’t watch TV, so this one is an easy question.

15. Drinking a glass of expired, curdled milk or eating a bowl of cold, slimy worms? (Note: the worms would be dead, though not cooked.)
I can’t even drink fresh milk, so I can image drinking curled mild how it would be. Maybe I will close my eyes and try those dead worms, maybe they would be delicious.

Thank you for joining us, Burbuqe!
Readers: want to connect with Burbuqe? You can find her on Twitter, Goodreads, Facebook, and Instagram. Also, be sure to check out her blog.

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Burbuqe Raufi

Leave a Reply

