Author Interview: Laura Allen

The Wanderer tells the story of Asa, a gypsy girl who has just discovered that she’s an alien — an alien wanted dead by other extraterrestrials, no less. Sound like an interesting read? If so, you’ll definitely want to stick around. Author Laura Allen is in the (virtual) building, and she’s excited to share more about her debut novel with us. 

Laura Allen

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

  • Where are you from?

I’m from the outskirts of Tacoma, Washington!

  • Where do you currently reside?

A small town outside of Tacoma, WA

  • Do you have any hobbies?

 Hobbies, oh boy! I love to write, read, watch jeopardy and wheel of fortune with my family, explore the outdoors, and pin on Pinterest!

  • What do you do for a living?

I’m a Daughter, an Author, a Friend, and I breed Sugar Gliders!

  • Give us a few fun facts about yourself.

I own a bearded dragon that’s named Drogon, and 4 Sugar gliders, I can read lighting fast, and I’m quiet for most, but If I feel comfortable with you, I’ll be crazy weird, (lol)

2. When did you start writing?
I started writing when I was eleven.

3. Why did you start writing?
When I was eleven, I started just randomly getting ideas that should have happened on a Tv show or a movie. I then started writing on Quotev, (At that time I didn’t know most sites, and wasn’t into Wattpad, like most are.) I soon came to love writing, and in 2013, in November I started The Runners Series, my first novel written without fan-fic’s to help. I started Nanowrimo that year, also. It was a stressful, and fun year!

4. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
Yes, very well, it was at a hotel, going to work a vending show!

  • On a related note, how different is the final product (the book) from your original vision?

Very, it started out as just one book, but I thought; what if a reader came to ask what had happened before that last book? I would have so much explaining to do! So I went back to writing, and the last book will change, and It’ll probably leave the readers speechless!

5. How did you arrive at your book’s title?
A Necklace pendant I have, see each runner gets a pendant, it’s pretty big deal, and so The Wanderer, is what fit Asa

  • Were there other titles which you were considering?

No, not really, I had found many amazing titles, but nothing that fit.

6. Does your story have a moral?
Don’t trust everyone, haha, no seriously that’s probably the biggest moral there, if there really is one

7. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
Well for the ones you haven’t met it would be a tie between Adria, and Misty; both Runners. I won’t spoil it, so I’ll use just The Wanderer’s characters for now.

I got to say the most fun to write was Ki, he’s very sarcastic, and funny, and I enjoyed spending time getting to know him!

8. Using five words or less, describe the protagonist in The Wanderer.
Different, she’ll be something unusual.

9. Let’s discuss what a typical writing session looks like for you.

  • Do you listen to music as you write?

Yes, mostly all the time, especially because I live with five other people in the house!

  • What is your preferred writing time? Morning? Afternoon? Late at night?

Early mornings, and usually late at night I get the bazaar ideas!

  • Do you have a specific location that you go to when you want to write?

I usually like to write anywhere, (mostly indoors.) I can write in a hotel, a starbucks (Or local café), or at home!

  • Do you set daily goals for yourself (in terms of word count)?

Not unless I have myself a deadline.

10. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
No, I sometimes Outline different things, but then again, I sometimes I like to just free-hand everything!

11. What is your favorite book genre?
Young Adult

12. What is currently on your to-be-read shelf?
The Benighted by A.M. Dunnewin is on my TBR

13. What is your favorite book?
Legend by Marie Lu, she wrote her book with passion and love, she fell with her characters, she kicked butt with her characters, and she grew stronger with her characters.

It’s dear to me, because I found a work of art that the artist took pride and love and mixed with patience, and hard work! The plot was absolutely amazing!

14. Any project in the works?
The Maker, (The 2nd in The Runners Series)

And I’m playing with a few other ideas, as I finish the second and start the third of The Runners Series.

15. How long does it usually take you to write a book?
It can take from a minimum of six months, all the way up to two years.

16. In your opinion, what makes a story ‘good’?
The passion! If you love to write, and are not doing it for the money or the fame, you’ll write something (most of the time) that’s worth reading, I’ve seen authors, who are well known, writings go down the drain, because they are too greedy, sadly.

17. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
First, is that if your writing for money and not writing for the love of writing, then this isn’t your thing. Writing is something that you have to have a love for doing. Many Authors well tell you it’s a job, it’s the money that counts. Well they’re lying. Writing is something you need to love to make a good story.

And second, and also my main advice is don’t give up, my first draft no one could read, it was all gibberish, and everywhere, when I went back to editing and working it into what it is today, I was laughing and crying, and wanting to kick myself, but I came out of it and you all can too.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book

2. Living in the city or living in the country?
Country, (But not too out by myself)

3. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Car, I love stopping at little pit stops, and enjoying the view!

4. To find true love or to win the lottery?
True love

5. Being Spiderman for a day or being Batman for a day?
Batman (I wanna take his bat car for a spin!)

6. Bungee jumping or going on the slingshot ride?
Bungee Jumping

7. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
Movies/Television (You never said I couldn’t have Youtube on my internet, lol)

8. Having your car break down on an extremely busy expressway or along an abandoned road in the middle of nowhere?
Busy Expressway, (I will not die in the middle of nowhere!)

9. Finding yourself caught in the middle of a hurricane or finding yourself caught in the middle of a snowstorm? (Note: in both scenarios, you’d be outdoors and have no access to shelter.)
Hurricane

10. Being two inches tall or being two stories tall?
Two stories (Although being two inches would have its perks, hm)

Thank you for joining us, Laura!
Readers: want to connect with Laura? You can find her on TwitterGoodreadsFacebook, and Instagram. Also, be sure to check out her author website.

Leave a Reply

