Author Interview: Bryce Gibson

perennials banner

Allow me to introduce Bryce Gibson. His newest novel, Perennials, just recently hit the virtual shelves. (Fans of mysteries/thrillers will want to stick around for this interview!)

author photo1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. 
I have lived in South Carolina my entire life. I grew up on a farm, got a degree in Media Arts from the University of South Carolina, worked in retail management for fifteen years, and am now back to working on the family farm. In my spare time, I love reading, writing, watching horror movies, and gardening.

2. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
I got the idea for Perennials when I was working in my yard. The initial idea was this–a teenager named Dusty Miller falls in love with a girl named Nandina Bush. Then, probably not even a minute later, I had this idea–what if there is a serial killler that is targeting people that share their names with plants? The rest of the novel grew from there.

3. How different is the final product (the book) from your original vision?
The biggest difference is that the main story arc went from taking place over an entire summer to just a few days with flashbacks and backstory thrown in.

4. Let’s discuss what a typical writing session looks like for you.

  • Do you listen to music as you write?

I’ve tried listening to music when I write, but it doesn’t work for me. I prefer the quiet.

  • What is your preferred writing time?

I write best in the early morning. When I try to write at night, it keeps me awake. The characters and story are too fresh in my mind; as I try to sleep, the story won’t stop running through my head.

  • Do you have a specific location that you go to when you want to write?

I almost always write in my home office that overlooks my backyard.

  • Do you set daily goals for yourself (in terms of word count)?

Sometimes, especially when I’ve set deadlines for myself, I set word count goals. I’m able to meet them most of the time, but not always. If I don’t, I try not to beat myself up over it. It all works out in the end.

5. What are you currently reading?
I read a lot of different genres.  Right now I’m reading a children’s book, The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate.

6. What is on your to-be-read shelf?
My to-be-read is too many to list! lol.

7. Any project in the works?
I’m about to start working on a new YA novel that is tentatively titled The Reading Buddy. It is a stalker/obsession story set on a hops farm in South Carolina. It will have a lot of werewolf folklore thrown in. I’m looking forward to writing it.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Ebook or physical book?
Definitely a physical book.

2. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
I would much rather travel to the past.

3. To find true love or to win the lottery?
True love.

4. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
I’m with the animals 100% on this one.

5. Being drawn into a tornado or being drawn into a whirlpool?
I’m terrified of tornadoes, but if I had to choose one of the two, I would go with them. Also, I don’t know how to swim, so a whirlpool sounds like a horrible idea.

6. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
Sadly, I know that I would rather go without watching movies or TV shows for a week.

7. Losing your ability to speak or losing your ability to hear?
I would much rather lose my ability to speak.

8. To never read another book or to never watch another film?
This is too close to answer.

9. Finding yourself caught in the middle of a hurricane or finding yourself caught in the middle of a snowstorm? (Note: in both scenarios, you’d be outdoors and have no access to shelter.)
I find hurricanes to be both fascinating and scary. If I had to choose, I’d go with the hurricane.

10. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
I think I could easily go without chocolate, but coffee…not so much.

11. Finding yourself trapped in the universe of The Walking Dead or finding yourself trapped in a slasher film?
I care zip about The Walking Dead. Throw me in a slasher flick any day.

Thank you for joining us, Bryce!
Readers: want to connect with Bryce? You can find him on Twitter, Goodreads,  Facebook, and Instagram. Also, be sure to check out his author website and blog.

About the book

Perennials front coverTitle: Perennials

Author: Bryce Gibson

Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers

Summer in South Carolina – a time of ripe peaches, crackling bonfires, trips to the lake, and the rural legend of a creature known as the Lizard Man.

This year, a very real monster is lurking about.

The victims all have one thing in common – they share their names with plants. Soon it becomes apparent that seventeen-year-olds Dusty Miller and Nandina Bush may be next on the killer’s list.

That was when I realized that the red I saw in the driveway wasn’t blood. It was a scattering of rose petals.

Deep down, I knew, right at that very moment, that what all of us had been afraid of for the past several months had already happened.

I knew that the serial killer had finally made his way to Crow County.” – Dusty Miller

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Bryce Gibson

Leave a Reply

