Author Interview: Carissa Lusk

With us today is Carissa Lusk, author of the NA paranormal-romance novel After the Fall. We’ll acquaint ourselves with Carissa in just a moment. Before we do, let’s take a look at her novel’s synopsis:

After the Fall

Amity cries out into the darkness that surrounds her, hoping for a solitary voice to provide direction; she hears two.

Amity knows she loves Alexander, yet the loneliness brought on by the miles that separate them can only be curbed by the cryptic affection of Marcus Riley. She can’t understand the strange familiarity she finds in the wild blue of Marcus’s eyes, but she will soon learn his secret.

Plagued with dreams and memories of lives beyond her own, a tragic fate will emerge from the ashes of a love scorned. Eventually, she will discover the dark truth that will leave her running for her life, and she will learn who sacrificed everything to save it.

profile pic

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born and raised in southern WV, and I’m still sticking around despite my love of the ocean. One day I’ll live by the beach, though. I credit my love of reading and writing to Kate Chopin, Emily Bronte, and my mom. I graduated from Concord College with a Bachelor of Arts in English, and I loved it there so much, I made it the setting of After the Fall.

2. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
My novel is based on several dreams I had when I was a kid. Years ago I imagined how they could all be tied together, and the idea for After the Fall emerged.

3. On a related note, how different is the final product (the book) from your original vision? That is, did the structure and content of the novel change with the passage of time?
The novel went through about ten drafts. Though the story itself didn’t change, the writing changed completely. I also changed my main character’s name in about the 9th draft from Christiana to Amity.

4. How did you arrive at your book’s title?
The book was titled After the Fall probably before the first chapter was even written. I’d always considered it a working title, but I couldn’t find anything that better suited it. The title, I think, has a different meaning as the story progresses.

5. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
I don’t use outlines. I keep in mind a general idea for the story, but part of the fun is seeing where the story takes me.

6. What are you currently reading?
I just started A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah Maas. I read the first book in the series a couple of weeks ago and fell in love with it.

7. What is your favorite book?
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. It’s a classic. There is no better love story than Heathcliff and Catherine, and one of my favorite lines is from this novel. “He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

8. Any project in the works?
I’m currently working on the prequel to After the Fall, and occasionally I’ll work on the first book of another series that’s been swirling around in my head for a while.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
The book is always better.

2. Summer or winter?
Summer! I read a poem once that said “I was born in summer and it stamped itself on my heart.” That’s so true for me. (poem is by Hannah Nicole)

3. Cake or ice-cream?
Cake isn’t just my favorite dessert. It’s my favorite food.

4. Car or motorcycle?
Car. I’m not very adventurous.

5. Ebook or physical book?
Both. I love the ease of reading on my smartphone, but there are times when only a physical book will do.

6. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Text definitely. I hate phone calls.

7. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
I’m a hotel girl all the way. I hate the very thought of camping. I hate bugs, campfires, tents, and campground bathrooms.

8. Being Spider-Man for a day or being Batman for a day?
I would choose Batman. This would be the only day my niece, Olivia, would think I’m cooler than her Uncle Buddy.

9. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
I would love to be able to understand animals. Talking to humans is overrated anyway.

10. To never read another book or to never watch another film?
Again, books are always better. Who could live without them?

11. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
I would give up chocolate. I could still have vanilla cake, strawberry cake, and peanut butter cake. But nothing could replace coffee.

12. Finding yourself trapped in the universe of The Walking Dead or finding yourself trapped in a slasher film?
I’m choosing the universe of The Walking Dead. My reason? Daryl Dixon exists in that universe.

Thank you for joining us, Carissa!
Readers: want to connect with Carissa? You can find her on Goodreads and Facebook. Want to check out After the Fall? Click here.

One thought on “Author Interview: Carissa Lusk

Leave a Reply

