Author Interview: Sharlin Craig

Joining us this fine day is Sharlin Craig, author of Ornaments of Love. Before we bombard Sharlin with questions, let’s take a quick look at her novel.

OrnOfLoveCover.jpgA touching Christmas story with glowing illustrations, Ornaments of Love is a story to cherish for years to come. A beautiful tale of Ayana, an endearing ten-year-old who excitedly anticipates that special time of year when the entire family joins together to decorate and admire the Christmas tree.

But sadly this year is different. Ayana realizes that her mom and dad are far too busy with everything else to enjoy the tree with Ayana. Then, something unexpected happens and the family is brought together with tenderness and joy.

Filled to the brim and overflowing with charming moments, gentle humor, and timeless illustrations, this beautiful story is a wonderful reminder of what’s important not only during the Christmas season, but every day of our lives. Ornaments of Love is destined to become one of your favorite holiday stories. One that will remain in your heart forever.

Sharlin.jpg1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I’m originally from Detroit, Michigan and I currently reside in Santa Ana, California. I love to write children’s books and music. I enjoy gardening because I like being outdoors and seeing the garden transform into something beautiful. My family and I adopted an adorable miniature schnauzer puppy a few months ago and I’m working daily to train her. I love being a mom, wife and music teacher. I enjoy reading books and watching movies and could survive on Starbuck’s French roast coffee, Ghirardelli dark chocolate, and red wine. I love hugs, laughing, spending time with my family and friends, exploring new restaurants, the outdoors, sunsets, picnics and accomplishing my goals.

2. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
The book that I wrote, “Ornaments of Love”, basically came up with its own title. The story is all about the loving memories that each Christmas tree ornament represents.

3. Does your story have a moral?
I hesitate to say my story has a moral because I prefer the story speak for itself. But I do hope that families walk away after reading “Ornaments of Love” making a conscious point to spend quality time together over the holidays and throughout the rest of the year.

4. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
The protagonist, Ayana, is my favorite character. She expresses her feelings throughout the book and isn’t afraid to show her vulnerability or disappointment. She has faith in her family and rejoices when her family finally makes time to spend together.

 5. What is your favorite book genre?
I enjoy a good fictional novel, maybe historical in nature or if it’s just plain fun. And I adore children’s picture books, especially the ones that touch my heart or make me laugh. I love to share my favorite picture books with my nine-year-old daughter so we can laugh together or read about something impactful.

6. Any project in the works?
I have several ideas for future projects. After Christmas, I’ll evaluate the ideas that I have and make a decision to work on the one that I believe in the most.

7. In your opinion, what makes a story ‘good’?
I think a story is good if it sticks with me after I read it. It needs to affect me emotionally somehow either through humor, depth, cleverness or where I learned something new and important. I feel a good book is one I’ve never read before. It’s new and different. It has to be a quality read where it’s clear the author devoted himself/herself to excellence throughout the book.

8. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
My advice to aspiring writers is to become immersed in every way imaginable into the craft of writing. Also, read, read, read!

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Dogs or cats?
Dogs

2. Summer or winter?
Summer

3. Cake or ice-cream?
Cake — chocolate!

4. Car or motorcycle?
Car

5. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book

6. Nights out or nights in? 
Nights in

7. Living in the city or living in the country?
Country

8. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telepathy

9. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Past

10. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Car

11. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Hotel

12. Working in a group or working alone?
Alone

13. To find true love or to win the lottery?
True love

14. Being Spider-Man for a day or being Batman for a day?
Spider-Man

15. To find the love of your life (only to find out that you’re not the love of their life) or to have someone declare you the love of their life (note, however, that this someone is not a person whom you are romantically interested in)?
Have someone declare I’m the love of their life.

16. To speak using ONLY rap lyrics (from songs released in the 21st century) or to speak using ONLY quotes from Austen’s books?
Using rap lyrics from songs in the 21st century

17. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind.

18. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
Going without movies or TV for a week

19. Have every day be Saturday or have every day be Saturday?
Have every day be Saturday.

Thank you for joining us, Sharlin!
Readers: want to connect with Sharlin? You can find her on Goodreads and Facebook. Also, be sure to check out her author website.

Leave a Reply

