Author Interview: Ben Jackson

Some authors choose to write solely within the confines of a single genre; every book that they release belongs to the same class. Ben Jackson is not one such author. Throughout his writing career, he has composed children’s books, dystopian fiction novels, and works of non-fiction. Take a gander at some of his titles’ covers down below.

How To Survive The Zombie Apocalypse: The Complete Guide To Urban Survival, Prepping and Zombie Defense.The BeforeLong Distance Relationships: Online Relationships to Military Relationships, surviving love from afar
The Day My Fart Followed Me HomeThe Day My Fart Followed Me To HockeyDivorce Recovery: Advice for women, men and parents, complete guide on custody, assets, separation and more.

Please join me in extending a warm welcome to Ben Jackson! He’s come to discuss his children’s books with us.

IMG_4672.JPG1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born and raised in Australia, and have spent most my life living in Tasmania and Queensland. I’m a boilermaker welder by trade, specializing in aluminum boats, large passenger ferries for the most part. I met my current wife almost four years ago, and we live in a long-distance relationship, very long distance! She lives in London, ON Canada, and I live in Australia. Recently I became a Canadian permanent resident, so now I travel between Australia and Canada frequently. I’m not coming from any sort of formal writing education, just a reader from way back, that loves to read.

2. When did you start writing?
I have been writing for about three years now (paid). I work as a professional freelance writer, while I build up my author collection. I have several non-fiction books, as well as a new fiction book, The Before. My most popular books are my children’s books I write with my wife, Sam Lawrence, The Day My Fart Followed Me Home, and The Day My Fart Followed Me To Hockey.

3. Why did you start writing?
I started writing to prove a point. I work a paid freelance business copywriter and it all just sort of spread from there. One day I would love to stop working as a tradesman and just focus on writing full-time.

4. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your debut children’s novel, The Day My Fart Followed Me Home?
My children’s book started very late in the evening, just sitting around with my wife. We just started writing the characters, and it all spread from there. The biggest problem is we would love to have hundreds, but need to focus on illustration budgets and timelines. We are trying as hard as we can to complete a Christmas edition.

5. Tell us a little bit about your children’s books’ titles.
The Day My Fart Followed Me Home and The Day My Fart Followed Me To Hockey were from memory almost the exact titles we came up with. We decided on these titles so that we could make it an ongoing series.

6. Do your children’s stories have a moral?
Our books are about some of the things kids are going through as they grow up. Dealing with body issues and pressure. Timmy is the little boy; his ‘friend’ is the Little Fart. The Little Fart is Timmy’s imaginary friends, his support. Just a fun way for kids to see that they can do whatever they want. We are writing another one about new babies next, and the challenges of siblings.

7. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
Of all the books, which I have written, across the different genres, Timmy and the Little Fart are my favorite! Soon, both Timmy and the Little Fart may have little sisters!

8. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
I love watching TV and movies while I work. I always watch Netflix while I write. It probably distracts me, but I enjoy it, and if I didn’t enjoy writing, then I would quit! I’m a very casual writer, if I don’t feel like writing, I can’t force myself. I don’t write a lot while I’m out and about, but I do make notes on my phone about ideas.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
OMG, I couldn’t choose between the two, I read and watch movies! I also go to the cinema at least once a fortnight!

2. Dogs or cats?
Hmm. I love dogs. I also love cats. These questions are killing me, or highlighting the fact that I’m indecisive. Don’t leave me in charge, ever!

3. Summer or winter?
Summer all the way! Beaches, boats, and fishing.

4. Cake or ice-cream?
Ice-cream, soft serves are my favorite.

5. Car or motorcycle?
Cars, trucks especially and old muscle cars.

6. Ebook or physical book?
Physical books, I think it’s the smell.

7. Nights out or nights in?
Nights in, I’m a couch lover.

8. Living in the city or living in the country?
Love the country.

9. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telepathy.

10. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
The future, purely for financial reasons. We all want to be rich!

11. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Sending a text, I’m a writer!

12. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
I love road trips and fly all the time. Driving for me if I can choose.

13. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Hotel, I hate camping!

14. Working in a group or working alone?
Working alone, I’m Han Solo.

15. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
I’d hate to lose all my money, oh yeah, I don’t have any. Photos.

Thank you for joining us, Ben!
Readers: want to connect with Ben? You can find him on Facebook (author profile and book page) and Goodreads. Also, be sure to check out his page on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

