Author Interview: Nathan Bush

Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Nathan Bush to the blog. He is the author of the Christian/crime novel Written in Blood. Before we meet our visiting architect, let’s acquaint ourselves with his book!

Written in Blood (The Foley Chronicles:Files from the 8th District Book 1)

Detective Kennedy Collins is completing his rookie year in Homicide, a division of the Investigative Branch of the Foley Police Department. His life turns upside down when his dad is re-diagnosed with a terminal illness. He must also cope with his own physical and mental issues that develop, along with questions about his Eternal security.

Eddie has been locked away for years and lays the blame for his solitary confinement on Ken. Once he is free, he sets in motion a plan to destroy Ken and the life he has made for himself: the life that Eddie feels should have been his.

When someone begins killing prostitutes in the 8th District, it’s up to Ken and his partner, Senior Detective John Filcher, to solve the case. Things get complicated for the duo when the investigation turns south and the Governor’s newly initiated ‘Special Crimes Division’ shows up.

During the course of the investigation, John, a devoted Christian, uses every opportunity to try and lead Ken to the Truth.

Will Ken and John find the killer before more victims die? Will Eddie make good on his vow to destroy Ken? Will the ‘Special Crimes Division’ make a move to take the case away from the detectives from the 8th District? Will Ken accept the Truth that can change his life forever?

131.JPG1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born in IL, have lived in many different US states (due to family moving and my time in the US Army), and currently reside in AL. I love reading (many genres) and writing (I have written in fantasy, sci-fi, poetry, song lyrics, even a bit of horror in high school, journalism, and now have published in crime/mystery). I love spending time with my family. I have five wonderful children (25, 23, 21, 19, and almost 2) and an incredible wife who doesn’t get enough credit for all her hard work. I enjoy teaching SS and Wed night services for the youth ministry at my church, watching Longhorns football, or simply vegetating.

2. When did you start writing?
I wrote my first story in middle school, a fantasy story, that I still think about rewriting and publishing (maybe).

3. Why did you start writing?
It’s just something that I’ve always enjoyed and wanted to do; even if it’s just for me and a few select who might enjoy my work.

4. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
I was in the middle of reading a great mystery book when the idea for my book
popped up. I was out of work at the time due to an injury. I started writing one day and pounded out 115000 words in around a month. It was a very rough draft and it took me nearly a year to cut it down. It is relatively the same now as the original text, as far as story line goes, but I added a narrator as a 3rd POV, and intensified the antagonist quite a bit.

5. Tell us about your book’s title.
The title remained the same throughout the writing and much of the editing process and only changed a month or so before I declared it ready to publish; somewhere around the 5th or 6th edited version. The original title was “I Know You”.

6. Does your story have a moral?
Yes. I would say that the moral of the story is that it is never too late to find Salvation through the power of God. No one is beyond redemption.

7. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
John Filcher would be my favorite. He is modeled after an uncle who passed away at an early age. Up to that point, he was the most influential male in my life, spiritually speaking. I created John as I thought my uncle would be if he were still here. John is the personification of Galatians 5:22, and yet still faulty in his failures and weaknesses.

8. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
Most of my writing is done late at night, between 10:30 and midnight to 1 a.m. That’s when everyone else is in bed and it’s easier to concentrate. I always write in my office. As for music, it’s usually on in the background and what plays depends on where I’m at in the book. Some characters get contemporary Christian songs, while others have to put up with Spanish guitar. I don’t set any goals for word count or chapters; I just start writing and let it come out on its own.

9. What are you currently reading?
Right now I’m reading Sean McDowell’s book, Apologetics for a New Generation, for our youth SS study.

10. Any project in the works?
I’m currently editing book #2 for my series, The Foley Chronicles: Files from the 8th District, and writing a rough draft for book 3.

11. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Every story means something, even if only to you, so just write.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Most definitely books; the movies usually take too much artistic license and change the good parts.

2. Dogs or cats?
Cats; although my wife says we’ll never have another one.

3. Summer or winter?
Winter. I hate the heat.

4. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book. You can’t bend the corner of a Kindle.

5. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Hotel. Did I mention I hate the heat?

6. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
Losing pictures; I don’t have any money to lose!

7. To find true love or to win the lottery?
Have true love, but no money. Now where’d I drop that power ball ticket?

8. Reading or writing?
How can you have one without the other?

9. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
Did both when we took the youth to Costa Rica for a missions trip. Neither one bothered me.

10. Misunderstanding everything that is told to you or being misunderstood every time that you speak?
I’m a married man, I think that goes on every day.

11. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
Goodbye chocolate. Without coffee I’d end up a suspect in one of my own books.

Thank you for joining us, Nathan!
Readers: want to connect with Nathan? You can find him on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

