Author Interview: Kevin S. Chambers

636154ef-47cf-49fd-b1ab-294c78bfc096.jpgKaden Hunt has been fighting a hidden war for humanity, alone. A war that changed one night when his oldest friend tried to kill him. Now Kaden, the most powerful human in existence, has drawn the complete focus of Enki and Shamash, the two warring leaders of the Annunaki — the aliens who created humanity. Both are determined to stop Kaden from becoming what he once was, who he once was. For if he becomes the Traveler, a more powerful enemy will be freed.

God’s Rogue hits shelves today. Coffee with Architects of Worlds Afar is pleased to introduce its author, Kevin S. Chambers.

1965484_10202757537395008_494365488_o.jpg1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
Well obviously my name is Kevin S. Chambers. I currently reside in the North West, where when I’m not working, or writing, I’ll fish, kayak, explore, play some video games, line dance (I really love to line dance), go to some country music festivals, spend time with my wife. I love where I live, it’s rural, an hour away from anything.

2. When did you start writing?
Novels? I started writing novels back in ’09, in general I started in grade school. Those were short stories, that I wrote in a little lined notebook, for myself. I’ve been telling and imagining stories since I can remember.

3. Why did you start writing?
I’ve got a story to tell, stories that interest me. Ones that I really love I will write, other times I’ll just allow the stories to play out in my head.

4. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
Yes, it was two years ago when I started to write a new web-series. Originally I was going to play the lead, who is now Kaden Hunt, and this girl I was interested in was to play the romantic interest. Well things did not playout, and I put God’s Rogue aside, until I went down to California, for some meetings. One of these meetings happened to be with a production company, who was interested in God’s Rogue as a movie. Well after writing the screenplay, I decided there was too much there, it needed to be a novel.

5. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
The title has a few meanings. God’s Rogue, as in God posses the Rogue. God is Rogue, as in God is the Rogue.

6. Does your story have a moral?
Absolutely, that there is value in each individual life. That no one else can tell another how to live their life.

7. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
Without going into too much detail, Raze Gron.

8. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
Hate them, never use them. My characters tell me the story, I just get to write it down.

9. What is your favorite book genre?
Epic Fantasy.

10. What is your favorite book?
Eragon, and all the books in the Sword of Truth series. Including the ones that Terry Goodkind says are a separate series.

11. Any project in the works?
There’s this book series. I’ve also got Daughter of Time, and Starship Phoenix. Both of the latter are web-series / tv-series.

12. How long does it usually take you to write a book?
4 to 6 months for the first draft. Then another 6 months of editing.

13. In your opinion, what makes a story ‘good’?
Where the reader becomes friends with the characters, where a book makes a reader ask what if. Challenges the reader, emotionally and mentally.

14. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
It starts with a letter, and ends with a book.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Dogs or cats?
Dog.

2. Summer or winter?
Summer.

3. Ebook or physical book?
Love the smell of a used book.

4. Nights out or nights in?
Nights out.

5. Living in the city or living in the country?
Country

6. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telepathy.

7. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Future

8. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Call.

9. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Camping

10. Working in a group or working alone?
Alone.

11. To find true love or to win the lottery?
I don’t believe in true love, so lottery.

12. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
Human Language.

13. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
I can go without movies / TV, I’ve done it before.

14. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
Don’t like coffee, so…

Thank you for joining us, Kevin!
Readers: want to connect with Kevin? You can find him on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

