Author Interview: Kim Padgett-Clarke

32864582Emily and Clare are sisters who share a special bond. Clare is overweight, plain looking, and has epilepsy.

When Daniel comes into Clare’s life, all her dreams have come true. Daniel is handsome, successful, and to Clare’s amazement, is attracted to her. Clare finally has a man who will give her a loving relationship.

But Daniel is not all he seems to be. He is a control freak, who will do anything to keep Clare to himself. When Emily tells Daniel that she’s found out who he really is, he has to take drastic action to get Emily out of their lives, for good.

Coffee with Architects of Worlds Afar is thrilled to welcome the author of Made of Glass, Kim Padgett-Clarke.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I live in the North West of England in a town called Blackpool which is the number one resort in England. It’s an exciting place to live and there is always something going on all year round. Although we are a lot smaller than London or Manchester we do rival them for the number of international events and artists that have held shows here.

2. When did you start writing?
I can’t remember a time when I didn’t write. I used to write short stories in little red notebooks and insist on reading them out to my parents. They must have had a lot of patience!

3. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
There were two drafts of the book before I finally felt that I had got it right. I sent the first draft to an Editor and believed that she would write back saying how brilliant it was and there was no need to change a thing. How naïve! I got a 20 page report back which resulted in me taking the book in a slightly different direction. The saying you can’t see the wood for the trees was most appropriate.

4. How did you arrive at your book’s title?
The title Made of Glass didn’t come along until I was part way through the book. It was a phrase Daniel used and it seemed to sum up the whole idea of the novel.

5. Does your story have a moral?
My novel mixes in a lot of major issues. Clare has a disability, a subject that doesn’t seem to be approached in many works of fiction. Emily her sister crosses the line from caring to being over-protective. Daniel has deep seated issues with women which leads him to have a rather twisted view on relationships.

6. Using five words or less, describe the protagonist in Made of Glass.
In Made of Glass Daniel is controlling dangerous manipulative and devious

7. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
In my day job I work in an office so I try to structure my writing day in a similar way. I start around 10am break for lunch then carry on until tea-time. I find I can’t write in the evenings because there are too many distractions such as TV’s and radios blaring out. The whole house needs to be silent before I can concentrate properly. If I become stuck with a phrase or idea I walk around the house and voice my thoughts out loud. I always carry a notebook with me when I am outside as anything can trigger of a thought or idea and my memory doesn’t work well enough to hold the thought until I get home.

8. Any project in the works?
I have outlined book number 3. I have a notice board that I pin ideas to then I try to structure what will happen in each chapter. It doesn’t always work because once I start writing the characters can lead me down a totally different path to the one I had intended.

9. How long does it usually take you to write a book?
I don’t set myself a timetable. I think it puts too much pressure on if there is a deadline even if it is one you have created yourself.

10. In your opinion, what makes a story ‘good’?
If the reader cares what happens to the characters and wants to know how things turn out then I believe that is a good story.

11. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Believe in yourself do the best you can and don’t give up. Seek out professional people such as Editors and Proof-readers. It’s expensive but worth it if you want to have a book that looks professional. Get as much feedback as you can from people who have read the book and other writers as the reader is the most important person in all of this.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books

2. Dogs or cats?
Dogs

3. Summer or winter?
Summer

4. Cake or ice-cream?
Cake

5. Car or motorcycle?
Car

6. Ebook or physical book?
Physical

7. Nights out or nights in?
Nights in

8. Living in the city or living in the country?
City

9. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telepathy

10. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Past

11. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Call

12. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Car

13. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Hotel

14. Working in a group or working alone?
Alone

15. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?  
Picture

16. To find true love or to win the lottery?
True love

17. Being Spider-Man for a day or being Batman for a day?
Batman

Thank you for joining us, Kim!
Readers: want to connect with Kim? You can find her on Goodreads. Also, be sure to check out her book on Amazon (U.S. readers click here. U.K. readers click here.)

Leave a Reply

