Author Interview: Glenda Shaw

Today’s interview celebrates a couple of firsts for author Glenda Shaw; she joins us to talk about her debut novel in her first ever interview. (I suppose that that makes today quite special!) We’ll sit down with Glenda Shaw in just a moment. Prior to doing so, let’s familiarize ourselves with her book by taking a look at its blurb:

32797473

Young People Look No Further: This Quick Guide Answers Your Vital Questions About What You Need To Know Now

This book is virtually a D.I.Y. on how to rent your first place, how to shop for groceries, and clothing and how to care for your own.

So many questions are answered here you will want to refer to this little book over and over because it is full of good, useful information; such as How much should I spend on rent? How do I furnish a place? How do I stock my kitchen? Can I plan and cook meals? Now that I am responsible for caring for my clothing, how do I? How do I shop for clothing within my budget? With links to important websites for setting up your budget, and shopping sites that will save you time and money. With FREE SPF downloads to print out whenever you need them such as, “Housing Checklist”,”Shopping List”, and a “Menu Planner.”

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I am a great-grandmother who lives on a small farm outside of Athens, Georgia. I have been reading and writing just about my whole life, I also like to do crafting, cooking, and growing a few herbs, and chickens. I just don’t have any chickens at this time, but in the spring I plan on getting my coop in operation once again.

2. When did you start writing?
I have been writing for most of my life, and I did some technical writing over the years in my professional life of office management. This is my second non-fiction book, the first was written to help answer questions about the industry that I just retired from a few months ago. I have unpublished that book so that I might share it with my former coworkers.

3. How did you arrive at your book’s title?
My book had a working title,”On The Pathway to Independence,” but was first published under,”The Practical Guide to Coming of Age,” then became,”Independence-A How to Guide to Self-Sufficiency,” now it has finally found a proper fit as,”Your Own Life As An Adult,” with the subtitle of,”How to Navigate the Early Years.” These changes and updates are easy as a self-published indie author. I have changed the book over these months as I have been learning on this journey, most recent I have updated the content with links to my website so that readers can download free PDF copies of a checklist for housing, a shopping list, and a menu planner.

4. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
I try to write in the morning, the house is quite and I am in my office and focused. I intend to write 1000 words a day, sometimes it may be more, sometimes less. I have fibromyalgia so some nights I don’t sleep very well, so I might spend that time writing. I spend a couple of hours a day on learning about marketing and promoting books. I find the writing much easier that the marketing as I am pretty much an introvert.

5. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
I like to outline, I think it helps me with my process.

6. What is your favorite book genre?
I like to read period romance, and some mystery romance. I would like to try to write a romance novella someday. I have only written two non-fiction books so far. The first one I wrote to answer questions regarding the industry I spent the last decade working in, having retired early this year. The first book has been unpublished as I have another plan for it.

7. What are you currently reading?
I am currently reading, “On this Holy Night”.

8. What is your favorite book?
The Bible is my favorite book, it has everything! I do think that Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books are so good at teaching young people that some of them, if not all should be required reading for grammar school children. The fact is that those books might help them understand a little of what our families endured to raise a family in that era, and make them grateful for what they have, and also give them some survival skills in case they ever need them.

9. Any project in the works?
At present, I am working on a children’s book written in my dog Bud’s voice. I am planning the launch for next fall near football season because it has a little of a UGA theme. The pages that I have shared have been well received by both children and adults.

10. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
My advice to anyone starting this adventure is to study the marketing and launch ends of the business before you get into writing your great novel or whatever, you need to know what you don’t know!

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books

2. Dogs or cats?
Male Cats

3. Summer or winter?
SUMMER

4. Cake or ice-cream?
Ice Cream

5. Living in the city or living in the country?
Country

6. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
The Past

7. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
Losing all my money

8. To find true love or to win the lottery?
Find true love

9. Reading or writing?
Writing

10. Going without internet access for a week or going without watching any movies/television shows for a week?
Go without TV/movies for a week

11. To never speak again or to never eat solid food again?
Never eat solid food again

12. Losing your ability to speak or losing your ability to hear?
Losing my ability to hear

13. To never read another book or to never watch another film? 
Never to watch another film

14. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
To never drink a cup of coffee

Thanks for joining us, Glenda!
Readers: want to connect with Glenda? You can find her on Twitter, Goodreads, and Facebook. Also, be sure to check out her blog.

Leave a Reply

