Author Interview: Peri June

34053143Even the people closest to you can be monsters.

Maggie Martin is plagued by nightmares.
This hasn’t always been the case. She used to be your typical 17-year-old, worrying about boyfriends and college applications.
Until, one night, when she wakes up to the sound of screaming and witnesses the unthinkable. Now she’s scrambling to put the pieces of her life back together, which is not as easy as everyone would like her to believe.
Especially when she’s struggling just to BREATHE.

With the help of new friends, and a new love, will she be able to put her life back to rights? Or will the past come knocking once more?

It is my pleasure to introduce you all to the author of My Life As I Knew It, Peri June!

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I’m Peri June. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration. I am a nocturnal creature of the worst kind. Reading (and writing) is just so much better at night. I have a very selfish sweet tooth. If you put something made of chocolate in front of me, I will eat it, even if you tell me not to. Lol.

2. When did you start writing?
I have always scribbled down ideas whenever I had them, but I was never serious about it. I only decided to sit down and write a few years ago. I released my first book in January.

3. Why did you start writing?
It’s an amazing escape from everyday life.

4. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
Yes. It was summer a couple of years ago. I had the idea for “My Life As I Knew It” and I didn’t want to forget it, so I started writing and, before I knew it, I had written the whole thing. The concept of the story as a whole didn’t change, only the details did. One character that was supposed to be only mentioned in passing became a solid supporting character and my personal favorite. That was a nice surprise.

5. How did you arrive at your book’s title?
The title of “My Life As I Knew It” came to me when I first thought of the idea for the book. It was the only title I considered.

6. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
Like I mentioned above, the character of “Kevin” wasn’t supposed to be an actual character, but I felt there was more to his story and I decided to explore it and then he became my favorite. The character that was the most fun to write has to be the main guy “Sam”. I simply love his sense of humor.

7. Using five words or less, describe the protagonist in My Life As I Knew It.
Maggie: Smart, loyal, funny, anxious.

8. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
I like to write exclusively at night, in my living room, after the whole world goes to sleep. I don’t really have a specific word count to get through. I write until the words stop coming and then continue another day.

9. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
Definitely for them. More often than not, I deviate from my original outline, but it’s still nice to have a clear picture of where you want to take the story.

10. Any projects in the works?
I’m currently working on a story set in college. It’s still in the early stages, but I’ve already deviated from the outline!

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books.

2. Dogs or cats?
Dogs.

3. Summer or winter?
Summer.

4. Cake or ice-cream?
Ice-cream.

5. Car or motorcycle?
Car.

6. Ebook or physical book?
Physical book.

7. Nights out or nights in?
Nights in.

8. Living in the city or living in the country?
Living in the city.

9. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
Telekinesis.

10. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Being able to travel to the past.

11. Making a phone call or sending a text?
Making a phone call.

12. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Travelling by airplane.

13. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Staying in a hotel.

14. Being Spider-Man for a day or being Batman for a day?
Being Spider-Man for a day.

15. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind.

Thank you for joining us, Peri!
Readers: want to connect with Peri? You can find her on Twitter, Goodreads, and Facebook. Also, be sure to check out her blog.

Leave a Reply

