Author Interview: A.S. McGowan

33507707Analise woke up in the hospital to find that her parents were dead. Her father’s business partner has inherited the ranch she grew up on. To make matters worse her father’s will stipulates she cannot receive her inheritance until she turns twenty-one. Now penniless and homeless, she agrees to a marriage of convenience with her father’s business partner. After turning twenty-one and with her inheritance in hand, she no longer wishes to be trapped in a loveless marriage. Moving out she builds a life for herself away from the ranch and her husband. When her husband shows up on her door step asking to give their marriage a chance, she jumps at the idea of a marriage of love. The problem is: everyone has been lying to her, her whole life. Now those lies may very well get her killed.

It is my pleasure to welcome the author of For the Love of a Centaur, A.S. McGowan!

946258_558271757529154_1671876749_n1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
My name is A.S. McGowan.  I was born on an island off of Texas. Raised mostly in Missouri where I currently reside. I have traveled all over the United States. I have settled down in a small town in the Southeast part of Missouri. I am married with two stepsons age 18 and 17. I have three sons of my own ages 16, 15 and 11. Finally my husband and I were blessed with a daughter, who is 21 months old.

I find that I love to learn. Anything and everything. I just want to learn. I have a Bachelor degree in criminal justice and an MBA in finance. I am currently considered all but dissertation on my Doctor of Business Administration with a concentration in finance. In addition to the degrees that I have obtained, I also spent almost two years at University studying forensic psychology. I am also a member of the American Taekwondo Association where I study Taekwondo with two of my sons.

2. When did you start writing?
I have spent years writing academic papers for school. November 2016 I entered the Nanowrimo challenge. Discovering the challenge and deciding to enter was my attempt to see if I could take the stories inside my head and turn them into an actual book. I have always had fiction stories floating around in my head, I had just never done anything with it. I am so glad that I did because it was during this time that For the Love of a Centaur was fully born on paper.

3. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
The title For the Love of a Centaur was the first title that I came up with when working on the manuscript for my book. I had named the series Centaur Agency. The idea for Centaur came from the mystical representation of Centaurs as half horse and half human. With the Centaur Agency, all agents are undercover in jobs that are related to horses. The Agency headquarters also serves as an Equine magazine. Other agents either work for the magazine as a cover job or work on a horse ranch located outside the fictional town of Golden Eagle, Texas. I found that the combination of their undercover jobs dealing in the horse industry with their real jobs of agents investigating crimes fit with the mystical half horse half human creatures.

The rest of the books in the series have titles already except the last book. I am toying with different titles for that one. Every time I think I have settled on a title, my husband points out that it seems off to him. Then I am back to the drawing board. I am confident that I will have a title by time it is ready for publication.

4. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
My writing sessions vary day to day. One day I may write at night when all the kids are asleep. Another day I may find myself writing during the day with my 21-month-old daughter sitting on my lap. Those days are the hardest because she loves to click the buttons or worse she loves to touch the computer screen. My computer is touch screen so when she is on my lap, I may lose work instantly. Also, my computer is in the living room so the T.V is always on providing background noise. While I do not watch a lot of T.V, I find I do not like to write in silence.

5. Any project in the works?
Yes, I have several projects in the works. I am currently finishing up the second book in the Centaur Agency series. I also have two more books in the series that I am writing on. After I finish the four-book series, I have a vampire trilogy that I am toying with.

6. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
The first advice that I would give any aspiring author is to go for it. Just start putting words on paper. Once you do that the rest will come to you. The words do not need to be perfect, they just need to be there. I heard a quote once that rings so true: You can edit a badly written page but you cannot edit a blank page.

The next piece of advice I can give is to make sure you have a professional editor and cover design artist. A poorly designed book cover will condemn your book before it is ever written. A poorly edited book will also condemn your book. If the book is not properly edited, then readers will see the mistakes and miss the great story you have written. So, make sure you use professionals.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Books I really love books.

2. Dogs or cats?
Dogs. I have two dogs. Hubby is allergic to cats. However, who can resist a tiny cute baby kitten.

3. Travelling by car or travelling by airplane?
Airplane. I love getting to my destination fast. I also love the airport terminals. So many different people to see and all the different cultures. Such excitement.

4. Staying in a hotel or going camping?
Hotel wins every time.

5. Being Spider-Man for a day or being Batman for a day?
Batman all the way. We are a Batman family.

6. Reading or writing?
I choose both. I love reading other people’s works and I love writing my own.

7. Losing your ability to speak or losing your ability to hear?
I have a lot of children and a noisy house so I would say I would rather lose my ability to hear.

8. To never read another book or to never watch another film?
To never watch another film. I am not big on watching t.v or movies.

9. Spending half a day locked in a coffin (there would be a hole for air, of course) or spending two days trapped at the bottom of a well?
Um would there be a hot guy locked in the coffin with me?

10. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
I can give up chocolate, but I could never give up my coffee. I live on coffee all day.

Thank you for joining us, A.S.!
Readers: want to connect with A.S.? You can find her on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

