Author Interview: Michael Phillip Cash

Today’s guest is one of the most prolific writers to ever visit Coffee with Architects of Worlds Afar. To his name are over twenty-six books and screenplays which, collectively, have garnered more than sixty awards. (Impressive, eh?) Of course — as I’m sure you’ve already figured out from this post’s title — I’m talking about Michael Phillip Cash, author of fantasy, horror, thriller, and suspense novels.

Without further ado, let’s get to know Michael.

Image may contain: 1 person1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
My name is Michael Phillip Cash. I like long walks on the beach and dark chocolate.  Actually only half of that is true.  I have been writing (albeit terribly) since I’m 15.  I started writing (a little better) screenplays when I turned 20.  I started writing (much better) novels in my late 20s.  I self-published all my works. I have a degree in English, a minor in education, a degree in finance and an MBA in Business Management.  I have a beautiful wife that keeps me grounded. I have two wonderful children that keep my imagination churning.  I haven’t eaten bread, rice, pasta or potatoes in 6 years. I haven’t eaten vegetables or fruit in 2 years.  I eat meat, butter and dairy on a daily basis, and I just recently started lifting heavy weights.  I have never felt healthier in my life.

2. What does a typical writing session look like for you?
Laptop on a pillow on my lap, in my den. Night time – around 8pm. Travel Channel or Food Network on in the background.

3. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
All of my books begin as screenplays. I need to map out all my characters and their arcs.  I cannot begin writing until I have a screenplay completed.  Then, once that’s done, I flesh out the novel.

4. What are you currently reading?
Spiritual Science, The Flat Earth Conspiracy, Jurassic Park, The Revenant Screenplay.

5. What is your favorite book?
The Science of Getting Rich by Wallace D. Wattles. This book is what got me to this point in my writing career. It’s the basis for the film The Secret.

6. Any project in the works?
I have a completed manuscript called Dragged Down Deep. Think Indiana Jones meets Creature from the Black Lagoon. I finished Monsterland 2, and now I’m working on Monsterland 3.

7. How long does it usually take you to write a book?
2 weeks for a screenplay – 3 weeks for a book.

8. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Write every day. Write what you want, not what you think Hollywood will make next. Write every day.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Books or movies?
Like choosing children, but if I must – movies.

2. Nights out or nights in?
Nights in with a movie and cake.

3. Living in the city or living in the country?
Country.

4. Having telepathy or having telekinesis?
I sense the answer to this is telepathy.

5. Being able to travel to the past or being able to travel to the future?
Past, but not to stop my mom from kissing Biff.

6. Working in a group or working alone?
Group.

7. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
I’m seriously sweating while answering these, and you’re making it worse. Lose money, because I can always make it back. Can’t get back those pictures.

8. Reading or writing?
Writing!

9. To find the love of your life (only to find out that you’re not the love of their life) or to have someone declare you the love of their life (note, however, that this someone is not a person whom you are romantically interested in)?
Were these written by my wife? I love you honey. You’re my soulmate, and I would never think of answering a question like this.

10. To speak using ONLY rap lyrics (from songs released in the 21st century) or to speak using ONLY quotes from Austen’s books?
You know the answer, I don’t have to say, rap the only way I’d speak, each and e’ry day.

11. Bungee jumping or going on the slingshot ride?
I’m more of a ‘It’s a Small World’ kinda guy.

12. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
I’m allergic to animals, and some humans, but mostly animals.

13. Having your car break down on an extremely busy expressway or along an abandoned road in the middle of nowhere?
Busy expressway. I have an incredible personality and can stop a car to get them to help me.

14. Misunderstanding everything that is told to you or being misunderstood every time that you speak?
Huh?

15. Drinking a glass of expired, curdled milk or eating a bowl of cold, slimy worms? (Note: the worms would be dead, though not cooked.)
Worms. I’m a carnivore.

Thank you for joining us, Michael!
Readers: want to connect with Michael? You can find him on Twitter and Facebook. Also, be sure to check out his author website.

Leave a Reply

