Author Interview: Rodi Szoke

32207840The future of our civilization has always been in the hands of our children. What you may not know is that many years ago, a few of our young ones fought a quest against evil—an evil unlike anything anyone has ever seen under this sun. They didn’t know it, but their sacrifices allowed our forefathers—and us—to maintain our fragile ownership of this world.

In Seven & Two, the first book of the Our Young Guardians series, we begin the chronicle of one who was brave enough to leave behind what he knew. His faded handwriting not only captures how they struggled through that war, but how they learned to find themselves as they grew up away from their families.

You and I owe them more than we could ever give. And even though there is no word of them ever asking for anything, my heart tells me they would only ask for one thing—to keep them where their friends are.

The least we can do for them is honor their story.

Ladies and gentlemen, please put your hands together for the author of Our Young Guardians: Seven & Two, Rodi Szoke.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
My name is Rodi Szoke and I am the author of the book Our Young Guardians: Seven & Two. This is my first novel and I am very excited that it is finally out there. I love to fish and play golf but I guess my real hobby is to be a handyman around the house.

2. When did you start writing?
I believe I wrote the first page in 2004

3. Why did you start writing?
Being an inexperienced father, I thought about writing a book series for my daughter as another avenue to share with her some key life lessons. As the adventure takes place in this story, I touch upon some serious topics, such as friendship, addiction, love, parenthood, discrimination, war, etc.

4. Do you recall the moment you first conceived the idea for your novel?
I guess it was the day my daughter asked me why we lock the doors in our house. I wondered how I was going to explain the good and bad of our world.

5. Tell us a little bit about your book’s title.
As I say in the first page of the book. The future of our civilization has always been in the hands of our children. Our Young Guardians sounded appropriate as the title of the book series. You’ll have to read the book to understand why Seven & Two is relevant to the story.

6. Does your story have a moral?
There are various key messages that I hope the readers absorb as they read the story. “Kids shouldn’t grow too fast.” Is a very important one for me.

7. Of the characters you’ve created, which one is your favorite?
Peprokh is a cranky old wizard with very peculiar perspectives about anything. Kolikuj is a funny and mysterious one.

8. Using five words or less, describe the protagonist in Our Young Guardians: Seven & Two.
A brave and loving soul.

9. Let’s discuss what a typical writing session looks like for you.

  • Do you listen to music as you write?

Yes. Instrumental

  • What is your preferred writing time? Morning? Afternoon? Late at night?

Morning and afternoon.

  • Do you have a specific location that you go to when you want to write?

I write everywhere. I move around a lot around the house. I rarely write away from home.

  • Do you set daily goals for yourself (in terms of word count)?

My daily goals are points in time in the story that I would like to reach

10. How do you feel about outlines? Are you for or against them?
I use outlines most of the time.

11. What is your favorite book genre?
Any kind of fantasy and adventure. Some WWII history books are interesting

12. What is currently on your to-be-read shelf?
Unfortunately I don’t have much time to read. I do have two that I’ll read next: Sever: The Chemical Garden #3 and Crossed: Match # 2 (both recommended by my daughter)

13. What is your favorite book?
The Count of Montecristo: Alexandre Dumas. The story is just amazing.

14. Any project in the works?
I am already writing the second installment of the Our Young Guardians series

15. How long does it usually take you to write a book?
I still have a day job so my goal is to publish one book every year (it might take me only six to eight months if I do it full time)

16. In your opinion, what makes a story ‘good’?
Characters with the right mix of talents and flaws

17. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Let your heart take control of your writing. Once he is done, ask your brain for his opinion.

And now for a game of “Which Do/Would You Prefer?”
1. Working in a group or working alone?
Group

2. Losing all of your money or losing every picture you’ve ever taken and every picture that has ever been taken of you?
Losing all my money

3. Being Spider-Man for a day or being Batman for a day?
Batman

4. Reading or writing?
Writing

5. To find the love of your life (only to find out that you’re not the love of their life) or to have someone declare you the love of their life (note, however, that this someone is not a person whom you are romantically interested in)?
Someone declare to me

6. To speak using ONLY rap lyrics (from songs released in the 21st century) or to speak using ONLY quotes from Austen’s books?
Austen’s quotes

7. Bungee jumping or going on the slingshot ride?
Bungee

8. Being able to speak and understand every language known to humankind or being able to speak and understand every language known to animals?
Every language known to animals

9. Misunderstanding everything that is told to you or being misunderstood every time that you speak?
Misunderstanding everything that is told to me

10. Drinking a glass of expired, curdled milk or eating a bowl of cold, slimy worms? (Note: the worms would be dead, though not cooked.)
Slimy worms (sushi style)

11. Spending half a day locked in a coffin (there would be a hole for air, of course) or spending two days trapped at the bottom of a well?
Two days at a bottom of a well

12. To never again eat a piece of chocolate or to never again drink a cup of coffee?
Easy one. I don’t drink coffee.

13. Being two inches tall or being two stories tall?
Two inches tall

14. Finding yourself trapped in the universe of The Walking Dead or finding yourself trapped in a slasher film?
Probably the slasher film

15. Have every day be Saturday or have every day be Christmas?
Saturday

Thank you for joining us, Rodi!
Readers: want to connect with Rodi? You can find him on Facebook, Goodreads, and Twitter. Also, be sure to check out his author website.

Leave a Reply

